Watervliet Elementary School masthead
Universal Pre-Kindergarten Program  

Welcome to the Watervliet Universal Pre-Kindergarten Program's web page. The Watervliet Universal Pre-Kindergarten program is a collaboration between the Watervliet City School District and Albany Community Action Partnership.

picture of UPK students on the first day of school

The Watervliet City School District currently operates four full-day UPK classrooms. All four classrooms are located at Watervliet Elementary School and employ Head Start teachers. The classrooms are staffed by NYS certified pre-K educators and teacher aides. The UPK program follows the regular school district calendar. More about UPK

 

 

 

 

UPK NEWS

1.26.17

Prekindergarten registration for 2017-18 school year set for March 13-14

Registration for the Watervliet City School District Pre-K program will take place on March 13-14, 2017 at Watervliet Elementary School. Please call the UPK Office at 629-3263 to schedule an appointment. Applications will be available in the main lobby of the elementary school or can be downloaded from the website. view UPK flyer DOWNLOAD AN APPLICATION

1.23.17

Video: A Day in UPK

Literacy and Universal Prekindergarten Director Don Stevens presented a video overview of the prekindergarten program during the January Board of Education meeting. Go to video UPK Powerpoint

12.16.16

New York author and illustrator, Sheri Amsel, visits Watervliet Pre-K

Universal Prekindergarten students at Watervliet Elementary School are participating in an exciting enrichment opportunity this year provided by local author and illustrator, Sheri Amsel. Read more

 

6.20.16

Congratulations UPK graduates!

On Monday, June 20, Watervliet Elementary School hosted a graduation ceremony for its four Universal Pre-Kindergarten classes. Congratulations to all the graduates and their families. Have a great summer! View photo gallery WCSD Facebook Photo Album

UPK orientation on Sept. 2 welcomes new students and parents to WES

UPK orientation was held on Wednesday, Sept. 2 at Watervliet Elementary School. Parents and students had an opportunity to meet UPK teachers and learn more about program procedures and expectations. It also gave students an opportunity to meet their classmates and make new friends. View photo gallery

6.22.15

Congratulations UPK graduates!

On Monday, June 22, Watervliet Elementary School hosted a Moving Up Day ceremony for its four Universal Pre-Kindergarten classes. Congratulations to all the graduates and their families. Have a great summer! View photo gallery

Parent Information

 

Watervliet Elementary School PTA more 

Watervliet Civic Center Before and After School Care Program MORE

1,000 Book Club More

Parent Today more

 

 

 

 

UPK Forms

Pre-K Program Application

Head Start Dental Exam

Head Start Physical Exam

Pre-K Before & After School Program (Civic Center)

UPK Contact information

Donald Stevens, UPK Director dstevens@vlietschools.org
629-3263

Geraldine Ferris, Outreach Coordinator gferris@vlietschools.org
629-3263

Tonya Milligan, Assistant Site Coordinator
629-3263

Jill OConnell, Secretary joconnell@vlietschools.org
629-3263

Room 106
Phone: 629-3415
Lisa Barber
lbarber@vlietschools.org
Rosa Alcantara
ralcantara@vlietschools.org

Room 107
Phone: 629-3411
Alyssa Moore
amoore@vlietschools.org
Rebecca Haessler rhaessler@vlietschools.org

Room 108
Phone: 629-3410
Michelle Forney
mforney@vlietschools.org
Samantha Coles
scoles@vlietschools.org

Room 109
Phone: 629-3413
Adrianne Todd atodd@vlietschools.org
Meghan Wallas
mwallas@vlietschools.org