Watervliet Junior/Senior High School masthead
National Honor Society inducts new members  

picture of National Honor Society inductees

The National Honor Society at WHS inducts new members during a ceremony on May 11.

Student inductees exemplify leadership, character and service


Congratulations to the 22 students who were inducted May 11 into Watervliet High School's Ellen Bevins Chapter of the National Honor Society.

To be considered, candidates must first have a cumulative grade point average of 88 percent or higher, and are then inducted based upon the characteristics of scholarship, leadership, character, and service.

Once inducted, the National Honor Society members must continue to exemplify the ideals of leadership, character, and service, in addition to maintaining high academic standing. Another requirement for Watervliet High School students is a community service mandate where each student must complete at minimum of 15 hours of service throughout the school year.

The new inductees join the 32 current National Honor Society members: Usva Asif, Makayla Darmetko, Jessica DelSignore, Austin Divinichi, Aaron Fitch, Katherine Hotaling, Brianna Johnson, Katelyn Krempecki, Joshua Lindsay, Josie Munhall, Brandon Nichols, Owais Raza, Xavier Ortiz Reyes, Nathan Spain, Evan Tambolleo, Maria Baughn, Sheila Caminiti, Justin Cusson, Patrick Ethier, Haadia Faheem, Maleah Gentry, Angela Keefer, Kenneth Keefer, Brandie Lance, Bethany Livsey, Meghan Murray, Hosnieh Nazari, Parisa Nori, Kelsea Royce, Umme Salma, Alexis Wilson, Sydney Hayes (student attends Tech Valley).

During the annual ceremony, the high school also recognized longtime social studies teacher Bryan Satterlee as an honorary inductee into the National Honor Society. Mr. Satterlee is retiring after educating students at Watervliet Jr./Sr. High School for the past 28 years.

picture of teacher honorary inductee

Veteran teacher Bryan Satterlee, who is retiring this year, was also recognized as an honorary inductee.

Congratulations to the new inductees:

Davina Gladney

Isabella Gutierrez Noland

Jared Sierra

Waleed Ahmed

Alexis Dykes

Charles Diotte

Hannah Brown

Zagham Shah

Madyson Sawyer

Liana Novak

Rachel Cole

Hannah Hoyt

Dylan Fumarola

Mustafa Raza

Angelina Rodriguez

Dez’jah Mitchell

Ibrahim Asif

Noah Bagnardi

Alix Denue

Syed Talib Imam

Shawn Wellington

Komael – Raza Syed