Contact Us

We encourage parents who have questions or concerns to contact the district. To ensure a more timely response to an issue, please contact the appropriate staff member. Generally, it is best to start with your child’s classroom teacher, followed by the building principal or assistant principal, if necessary. Use the links provided for the staff email directory and district administrator directory, or use the school phone numbers.

Staff Directory

Search for faculty and staff by typing ONE of these options in the box below: first name, last name or email.

Tip: If you don’t know how to spell the name of the person you are looking for, try typing the first few letters of their first or last name and click ‘Go’.

Central Office

1245 Hillside Drive
Watervliet, New York 12189

Dr. Lori Caplan, Superintendent of Schools
(518) 629-3200, Ext. 6
lcaplan@vlietschools.org

Donald Stevens, Assistant  Superintendent
(518) 629-3456
dstevens@vlietschools.org

Keith Heid, Business Manager
(518) 629-3200, Ext. 5
kheid5@vlietschools.org

Janelle O. Yanni, Director of Programs & Pupil Services
(518) 629-3200, Ext. 3
jyanni@vlietschools.org

Kirsten DeMento, Director of Educational Programs & Accountability
(518) 629-3231
kdemento@vlietschools.org

Judy Frost, Public Information Specialist/Webmaster (M, Th-F)
(518) 629-3236
jfrost@vlietschools.org

Watervliet Junior/Senior High School

1245 Hillside Drive
Watervliet, New York 12189

Ryan Groat, Principal
(518) 629-3300
rgroat@vlietschools.org

Maria DeNovio, Assistant Principal
(518) 629-3300
mdenovio@vlietschools.org

David Wareing, Assistant Principal/Athletic Coordinator
(518) 629-3303
dwareing@vlietschools.org

Main Office Fax: (518) 273-4772
Attendance Office: (518) 629-3301
Guidance Office: (518) 629-3302 | Fax: (518) 629-3330
Nurse: (518) 629-3304

Watervliet Elementary School

2557 10th Avenue
Watervliet, New York 12189

Kelly Webster, Principal
(518) 629-3400
kwebster@vlietschools.org

Michael Foust, Assistant Principal
(518) 629-3400
mfoust@vlietschools.org

Kirsten DeMento, Director of Universal Pre-Kindergarten
(518) 629-3263
kdemento@vlietschools.org

Main Office Fax: (518) 273-5312
Attendance Office: (518) 629-3214
Nurse: (518) 629-3402