Ellen Bevins Chapter of the National Honor Society inducts 17 new members, ceremony livestreamed

The Ellen Bevins Chapter of the National Honor Society welcomed 17 sophomores during its 73rd Induction Ceremony on Thursday, May 13. We invite families, teachers and friends to watch a recording of the ceremony livestream on YouTube.

The 17 new inductees will join the National Honor Society chapter’s current 40 members who are in grades 11 and 12.

“We are absolutely thrilled to be able to conduct a hybrid ceremony this year, and provide some sense of a return to normalcy for our students, said social studies chairperson Scott Emerson. “While all induction ceremonies are wonderful occasions, this one has added significance. First, we are holding this ceremony in the heart of the pandemic, illustrating that success and achievement cannot be stopped, and second, because this is the 100th anniversary of the National Honor Society itself.”

While the ceremony will be paired down, somewhat, from previous years, five of the current National Honor Society students will be making speeches and remarks from the auditorium, and the new inductees will be present for the event, albeit socially distanced and wearing masks.

“The ceremony will look different this year, however, the foundations of the process remain the same,” Mr. Emerson said. “Students in grades 10, 11, and 12 are eligible for induction if they possess a high level of scholarship, based upon their overall average, and ultimately get selected for membership, if they have demonstrated the characteristics of leadership, service, and character.”

Student Speakers:

  • Morgan DelSignore – Host of the event
  • Anthony Johnson – Service Speech
  • Ella Bendon – Scholarship Speech
  • Savannah Ploof – Leadership Speech
  • Amia Maldonado – Character Speech

Congratulations to the following National Honor Society inductees:

  • Alexander Smith
  • Kennedy Johnson
  • Ali Nazari
  • Christoph (Ceano) Cervantes (attends Tech Valley)
  • Susan Rahimi
  • Emma Grimmick
  • Sophia Prew
  • Jonnie Jones
  • Serena Miller
  • Hamassah Noori
  • Peytan Smeltzer
  • Grady Delap
  • Nevaeh Edmonds
  • Karina Leibach
  • Michael Brown
  • Brett Burke
  • Logan Jamrosz